My Journey into Tech

It all started with Corona

I have always been interested in learning how things work. I think that's why I studied Mechanical Engineering. I also loved teaching people the basis of subjects relating to technology and I believe that's the reason why I took up a teaching job, teaching Physics and Advanced Mathematics. I employed the use audiovisual technology in my classes and also encouraged my students to carry research on Google about topics we treated. This gave them a better understanding of topics in physics and physics no longer became that tough subject. I was really making progress with my students and then Covid-19 happened. Schools had to be closed and everybody had to stay home. While at home, I started to think about what I really wanted to do with the talents I have. Getting a job as a Mechanical Engineer in my country is difficult and I don't to wait around hoping for a job someday. And in this current era, having a certificate is not enough anymore. You need to develop a skill is valuable. So I thought about the skill I can acquire that will allow me to provide solutions using technology. That's when I realized coding will be the perfect fit.

Joining Google Android Scholarship

So a week after the lockdown started, I signed up on freecodecamp.org and started learning. Everything was so strange at first but exciting at the same time. I connected with other newbies on Twitter and also learned from people who were already in the game. I also started from YouTubers like Brad Traversy. I learned how to think critically about programming and read code. I saw an advert on Twitter from Google about a Scholarship in partnership with Andela and Pluralsight. I registered and luckily got a placement! Entering the Scholarship introduced me to the world of Java. Now before the Scholarship, I have been working on HTML, CSS and JavaScript and here are some projects I made, a Testimonal Slider and a Tribute page to Dr Akunliyi. So far, i have been enjoying Java because of its accessibility. From what I have learned, it seems it was built to be easily read by people which is a plus for newbies like that don't a computer science background. I believe one of the major frustration newbies have with coding is learning how to read and understand code. Humans aren't wired to read in a syntactic manner. Physically, we solve problems either by using our hands or communicating verbally with someone else. So learning how to solve problems with a yes or no, if or else can seem daunting at first for newbies but more practice, it becomes clearer.

The Road Ahead

My goal ever since I became self-aware was to solve problems. I honestly don't know what the future holds but I would to work with a team that's involved in building something will impact the lives of millions, especially children, positivity. I have a deep passion for growth in young people and it always saddens me when I see young people get wasted away due to poverty. So working in a system that helps people make better financial decisions regardless of their economical background is where I would like to see myself working in a few years. Because poverty is a huge stealer of opportunities.

Thanks for reading and I will sure to make more documentations on my journey in tech.