Jackie Chan and Mastery through Repetition

Jackie Chan and Mastery through Repetition

The martial arts actor needs no introduction. He has starred in some of the most iconic martial movies of the century, Drunken Master (1978), Armor of God(1986), and the Rush Hour Series. He is known for his slapstick acrobatic fighting style and innovative stunts. Have you ever wondered how Jackie became a master in his craft? Well, I have. I was watching one of his movies recently, Mr. Nice Guy (1997) and there were pretty amazing scenes in the movie that made me go, "how did they do that?". There was this scene where he was fighting with some bad guys, and the fight sequence was so meticulously well executed. Jackie pulled some unbelievable stunts in the sequence that made you question the laws of physics.

But when the credits started rolling, the movie also displayed footage besides the credits that showed Jackie repeating some moves he made in that sequence over and over again even injuring himself in some cases. He would miss a spot, and they would have to start ALL over again. I became intrigued by this and I started researching on his other projects and boy was I blown away. Jackie took a reported number of 2,900 takes in the movie Dragon Lord (1982) just to perfect a shuttlecock kick. Even the producer told Jackie not to worry about perfecting the kick, that it would be edited but Jackie was relentless.

Jackie has a philosophy that through repetition of a single act, a man can be the master of anything.

Now, this got me thinking about my coding journey. Constituency can be a huge problem for a lot of beginners like myself. Sometimes we wish we could meet a Genie. But the only way to achieve mastery of this beautiful art of algorithm molding is through daily repetition. Keeping at it! Sometimes when I hit a roadblock while coding I feel like my head is literally empty but it's part of the process of training to be a better programmer. I believe that is why a lot of people drop out of their coding journey, it can become mentally exhausting. But if we believe that every day is a new day to try and try again, little by little we mold ourselves into perfection. Even if get better by 1% daily, it will surely stack over time.

Perfection through Repetition.